the overspent American

Sorry for the lack of posting, but there’s not all that much excitement going on. I mean, clearly it’s tough to live up to the excitement of my last opus – the shelf debacle.

Halloween came and went, and although I didn’t do anything in the way of decorating for it, we did get lots of trick-or-treaters. Many were cute, but we also had the standard issues with parents demanding candy for kids who weren’t even there, or for the 6-month old in the stroller, or for themselves, and the kids who weren’t actually dressed up at all. Still, all in all it was fun, and Casey was nice enough to take this picture of us giving out candy on our stoop. In case you can’t tell, that’s a Frankenstein mask I’m holding up. And Greg is of course wearing his favorite Luchador mask – man, those things have paid for themselves many times over at this point.

In other news, we bought our first piece of grown-up furniture, a beautiful mid-century sideboard we found on Craigslist. I realized that you know you’re growing up when you start having to buy Pledge. Oh, and clearly the sideboard gets the Franny seal of approval.

In addition to our grown-up sideboard, we’re heading over to Crate and Barrel tonight to potentially use our many wedding gift cards to purchase the grown-up sofa that we’ve had our eye on for a year or so. We’ve been living with the two-seater Ikea Klippan for a few years, and although it’s served us well, it’s time to move onto a couch that I can actually stretch out on and that isn’t the cheapest couch Ikea offers.

Other than that, we’ve been working on painting the trim in the living room. The walls are all done, but the trim has proven quite tricky, mainly because in true Kate and Greg fashion, we decided to cut corners and not prime it first. “Hey, it’s white on white, no need for primer.” After a week and three coats of paint that wound up peeling off in large strips, we decided to bite the bullet and prime. I’m really hoping to have the whole downstairs finished by the holidays, although I can’t decide whether Thanksgiving counts in that scenario. After we finish the living room trim, we need to pick a color for the dining room, but first we have to wait for our wallpaper sample to so we can figure that out.

3 thoughts on “the overspent American

  1. Maureen Laurito says:

    Kate & Greg,

    First of all, I love the masks. Second of all…this blog is great! Here are my 2 favorite sentences:

    -While Greg took his turn under the power washer, I climbed into bed all fresh and clean and laid there with Franny, smiling to myself and thinking, “I love our house.”

    -But for the most part, I still look around and think, “Wow, this is it, this is where we live, it all worked out and it’s exactly what we wanted.”

    I am so happy that you are so happy!

    Have fun!

    Maureen Laurito

  2. Chris McBride says:

    Hello Kate and Greg,

    First off, this may seem incredibly weird, I am the grandson of the woman who was the previous owner of your house.

    Please, don’t think I’m a stalker. Maureen Laurito (who I can only assume was the Realtor) sent my family the link to your blog.

    I’m really glad to see you’re enjoying the house. I haven’t seen those floors since I was a kid, and they look beautiful. I also never knew there was hardwood underneath all that vinyl (that’s a nice find).

    This comment, though, is really for your August 15th post. I see you’ve ripped up the vinyl flooring in the front room of the third floor. Is that a picture underneath it? And if so, do you still have that photograph? It seems the vinyl flooring has kept it in great condition. I can’t help but think that that may be a picture of my grandmother (or God help us, my great-grandmother – yes that house had been in our family for quite some time).

    My mother also may seem to think that that may be a picture of one of my grandfather’s old girlfriends, as that was his room growing up.

    Please keep me posted as to what that picture was/is. And also keep posting pictures; I grew up in that house, so it’s nice to see someone loving it as I did.

    Lastly, I agree with you, Kate. That one picture is fantastic, and that chandelier is amazing. It was always my favorite piece in that house growing up.

    Okay, that’s enough of me being creepy, sorry about that. I look forward to hearing from you.

    -Chris McBride

  3. kate says:

    Chris,

    Wow, I’m so excited that you read this! It’s funny, because I love Marion, I think she was half the reason I wanted to buy the house – she reminds me a lot of my own grandmother. I’ve thought about sending her pictures of the house, but I wasn’t sure if she’d be interested to see what we’re doing to it, or if she’d rather remember it the way she left it.

    As for the picture, I should really update that post, because soooo many people have asked about it. Sorry to disappoint, but it’s actually just the brand label of the paper that was used underneath the floor, not a photograph. I think we still do have it, but it’s nothing too special.

    We’re definitely keeping our eye out for any interesting discoveries though, so we’ll let you know if we find anything. If we find a big bag of money though, we’re keeping it ;)

    Thanks so much for reading, it was great to hear from you!

    Kate

Leave a Reply

