It’s time we hung some tinsel on that evergreen bough

Your Christmas wish has come true…it’s a new Passyunk Palace post!! The reason I haven’t been posting is because we came home one day, and miraculously the entire house had been magically remodeled, repainted and decorated. Oh wait, that’s *my* Christmas wish.

Things are coming along, slowly but surely. We haven’t done too terribly much in the way of decorating for Christmas, but we did get our tree last weekend, which Greg chopped down with his own bare hands (and a saw).

A few weeks ago we got our fancy couch, which we are extremely excited about. After living with a love seat for six years, you can’t imagine how luxurious it is to be able to stretch out. The first night we had it, Greg was sitting on one end and I sat on the other, yelling things over to him like, “What’s the weather like over there? What time is it on your end of the couch? Do the toilets flush clockwise or counter-clockwise?” Where do I come up with them?

Anyway, as you can see, the couch is big enough to fit both Greg AND the sea captain:

Last weekend brought a few four-legged visitors, much to Franny’s chagrin. Shanna & Dave stayed with us and brought their two kittens, who Franny absolutely despised up until about the last fifteen minutes they were here. Then they left and she was lonely and distraught.

We also recently bought a shiny new turntable, which we’ve been doing without for some time now. At last, we can FINALLY play The Best of Bread!

Hopefully next week I’ll be posting about our new table, which this guy is hand crafting for us. I found his ad on Craigslist, and a 7-foot table and matching bench is about a third of the cost of the one we wanted from Crate and Barrell.

But in case I don’t talk to you beforehand, Merry Christmas to all!!!

One thought on “It’s time we hung some tinsel on that evergreen bough

  1. Chris says:

    Hey Kate and Greg,

    This is the second comment I’ve made. I won’t lie. I feel like a stalker.

    The house looks great. It really does. Thank God you got rid of that wallpaper. However, I have to ask this, because I know I would kick myself if I didn’t…

    What did you guys do with the chandelear in the living room? The only reason I ask that is because I always felt it was beautiful, and if you guys still have it and want it, then by all means – it’s yours. But since I didn’t see it, I was wondering if you did still want it. And if you don’t, maybe there could be something worked out…

    I just reread that paragraph, and I really do feel like a creeper. I hope you guys don’t take it that way. Let me know, about everything. I love reading these blog posts. We’ll hopefully talk soon.

    -Chris McBride

Leave a Reply

