Everything but the kitchen sink, plus the kitchen sink

We’re in the midst of deciding what to do about the kitchen, and it’s a very scary prospect. No matter how you slice it, this is going to be an incredibly expensive project and it makes me a little nauseous to think about the money we’re about to drop on it. Mind you, I’m not even talking about custom cabinetry and high end appliances. I’d be pretty happy with some Ikea cabinets and a range with all four burners in working order. Oh, and an oven that doesn’t make my chocolate chip cookies come out completely flat.

I asked John (table-builder extraordinaire) for his opinion, since he remodels houses for a living. He said that our budget is probably do-able, but that most likely we’d have to be our own general contractor, another prospect that made me a little nauseous. Part of me feels guilty, because Greg and I are both so scared to try anything ourselves (short of painting and a bit of spackling), so this might be our big chance to step up to the plate. We know for the most part what we want, we have a bunch of recommended subcontractors, how bad could it be? Then I remembered the horror of dealing with the roofers, and driving back and forth to the office to meet electricians, floor sanders, chimney repairmen, etc. Not to mention I have no idea how to manage timing with a project like this. We’re going to need a mason, an electrician, a plumber, and a carpenter, and I have no idea how to coordinate all of the jobs.

We talked about it a bit tonight after going through our financial resources and decided that it’s worth the extra money to just get a general contractor. I’ve read that having a GC will cost you probably around 30% or so more, but since we’re not talking about a $40k remodel or anything like that, the difference will probably only wind up being a couple of grand. Our lives will be in enough upheaval with no kitchen for a while, we certainly don’t need to deal with the pressure of managing it all too. Not to mention that I just got done dealing with planning a wedding, I’m not ready for that kind of stress again anytime soon.

In other news, I think I might have found a potential chandelier for the dining room:

After searching high and low, I finally found it at West Elm. I saw it in Nicole’s house tour on Apartment Therapy. I’ve recently started reading her blog, Making It Lovely and I am totally enamored with her style. So be forewarned, I’ll probably be stealing a bunch of her ideas for our house.

Leave a Reply

