Good clean fun

Here’s some before pics of the patio, I’ll hopefully be updating tomorrow or Thursday with the spruced-up version:

What a great holiday weekend! That was probably the most productive four days I’ve had in years. We’re in total house mode right now, so we took advantage of our excitement and worked on projects for most of the weekend – Greg finished painting the patio and did some planting, and I worked on my craft studio and cleaned like a maniac. I took Friday off to run errands and get a jumpstart on the weekend. Between Target and Ikea, I dropped some semi-serious money, but for once I didn’t feel at all guilty, because I felt like so many of the purchases have already been put to good use and made my life so much easier. Case in point:

– a little dispenser with biodegradable bags for Porter’s leash. No more hunting around for Wawa bags and worrying that we might be caught short on the rare occasion that he poops twice
– a pop up doggie tent – Porter isn’t crazy about being tied to a desk at work so he whines every time I get up for five seconds, and random other times all day. I bought a little tent so he could have a crate-away-from-crate, and he hasn’t made a peep all day.
– a picnic basket – we already went on a lovely picnic on Sunday!
– a console table with drawers for the entranceway – So long, huge unsightly pile of junk mail, receipts and other random objects!
– divided laundry bins – I’ve already done two loads of laundry, and I hate doing laundry.

Other than working on setting up the craft studio (progress photos coming soon), I was a mopping maniac yesterday, and I owe it all to the guys at Method. As my mom says, the best way to keep your house clean is to just buy whatever it is that’s going to make the job easier. So I decided to put my somewhat neglected Method O-Mop to its best use by purchasing various accessories, and I’ve realized it’s the best thing ever. Excuse me a moment while I sing its praises and explain why it’s so great.

It’s just basically a flat rectangular mop head with velcro that you can attach different cleaning pads to. I bought some of the microfiber cloths that attach to it for sweeping (pretty much just like a swiffer), and an extra mop head. They make separate mop heads for hardwood and other types of floors, and sell different cleaning fluids for them. But it’s so easy and not icky to go back and forth between accessories, so yesterday I would vacuum up the major dust bunnies and then use the microfiber cloth to sweep up the dust (which sticks to the dry cloth via static electricity), then do a quick switch over to the mop head, back to the microfiber, back to the mop head. All you have to do is lay it down on the floor and press the mop on top of it to attach it, so you don’t even have to touch the gross mop head excessively. I’m embarrassed to say it, but I think it was *almost* fun. And the BEST part is that the mop heads are machine washable, and the cleaning stuff is all naturally made and environmentally friendly. After weeks of plaster dust sticking to every surface, it was like heaven to get out of the shower and actually be able to walk around comfortably in bare feet.

The feeling of accomplishment and cleanliness I felt made me even more excited for Cleaning Night, which Greg and I have decided to instate. See, truth be told, we live in filth here at the Passyunk Palace. With the house in such a state of disarray, cleaning just feels like polishing a turd, pardon my french. But suddenly a couple of weeks ago, my skin started to crawl at the dirt and grime everywhere. I feel like any minute I’m going to reach down and pet one of the dust bunnies thinking it’s Franny, and I’m really only *slightly* exaggerating when I say that. I’ve never really been able to stick to a schedule for anything, which is fine for some people because they don’t need one. But for me, no cleaning schedule means no cleaning, and this has led to the aforementioned dust bunnies. I’ve decided that having a clean house is really going to help me feel more balanced and relaxed, so we’ve agreed that Monday nights are going to be cleaning night so that the rest of the week we can relax in our nice clean house. So yeah, we’ll see how long that lasts.

Also, Friday was Porter’s first visit to the vet, and he did wonderfully (except for throwing up in the car on the way over). The vet said she expects him to be about sixty pounds fully grown, although she wasn’t willing to commit to my theory of him being a pointer – she seemed to think he was a third generation mutt. Some of the girls at work were saying that you can get your dog DNA tested for like $70, but that’s probably a very silly use of $70, especially considering it really doesn’t matter anyway, the important thing is that we love him no matter what he is.

On tap for this week: painting a bunch of the Ikea stuff I bought, finishing the patio, happy hour at some point, and hopefully finishing up the craft studio.

One thought on “Good clean fun

  1. HEATHER says:

    You vixen! I didn’t know that Method had a website-never mind one that you can order on! Man, oh, man. I am in trouble!

Leave a Reply

