Happy Anniversary, Passyunk Palace!

Today is the first anniversary of the Passyunk Palace! One year ago we sat in our realtor’s office and signed our names thousands of times and then got a set of keys.

The past year has been pretty great for me. We bought a house, got married, went on an incredible trip to Hawaii, and adopted Porter. Despite the fact that everything we try to do seems to open up some sort of can of worms (along with our checkbook), I still do love the house. That being said, I’m feeling simultaneously antsy to get more projects done (or should I say ANY projects done) and sort of lazy and unable to get out of my own way. I guess I can blame it on the fact that it’s summer, which is not the most pleasant of times to do physical labor. But looking around I’m too blinded by the road ahead to really pay much attention to what we’ve accomplished so far. I’m getting nervous that by the time we finish the place, we won’t have enough time to even enjoy it. We definitely don’t see ourselves living here forever, and I don’t want to take years to finish only to turn around and sell it right away. So we really need to come up with a plan to get going on all these things.

So let’s see where we are in the scheme of things – what’s completed and what’s still left to do?

COMPLETED:
– refinish floors
– remove awning
– install ceiling fans in living room & bedroom
– strip wallpaper in living room and dining room
– paint living room
– prime dining room
– new light fixtures in office and craft studio
– paint the office
– paint the craft studio
– strip bedroom wallpaper
– strip guest room wallpaper
– new light fixtures in hallways
– core rewiring
– clean up and paint patio
– change front outside light fixture

LEFT TO DO:
EVERYTHING! Actually, I’m not going to type all this stuff out, you can see it all on the to do list.

It certainly is a good thing that The Money Pit happens to be one of my favorite movies. Let’s just hope this doesn’t happen any time soon:

3 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary, Passyunk Palace!

  1. leann gorman says:

    kate, you should be so proud of getting that much stuff done in a year! take it from another (money pit) homeowner!!

  2. Rhonda says:

    Hi there,

    I love your web site. I stumbled upon it looking for snowflake patterns in hex tile photos. We are currently doing our bathroom and I certainly enjoyed looking at your nicely renovated bath. I can’t wait to see your kitchen!

    Anyway, nice job. I just have one more comment. I love the photo of the two of you by the shore. Is that Coast Guard Beach in North Eastham, MA? Just curious. If it isn’t, I would love to know where it is as it is absolutely beautiful there.

    Thanks for sharing your renovation.

  3. Kate says:

    Hi Rhonda,

    Thanks so much for the compliments! I think you might have mistakenly taken one of our “inspiration” photos as our house – unfortunately we haven’t done any bathroom work yet, although it’s on the very long list.

    Our wedding was actually on the beach in Stone Harbor, NJ, near Cape May. It is a lovely place and I highly recommend it.

    Thanks again, glad you’re enjoying our blog!

    Kate

Leave a Reply

