lazy saturday (and sunday)

The rest of my weekend failed to live up to Friday’s productivity, although to be fair, it’s damn near impossible to do anything in this heat except turn on our crappy window units and try to stay perfectly still.

On Saturday we went to Greensgrow Farms in North Philly, which we’ve been meaning to go to all summer, and picked up some produce and a couple of plants. It’s a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) farm in the middle of a neighborhood where they grow and sell all their own produce. We discovered it a while back after Greg’s brother sent an email singing the praises of a CSA that he went to in California. They offer a yearly subscription which we considered getting until we realized that since you have to go up there every other week to pick up your box, we might as well just shop at their farmers market on an a-la-carte basis until we prove to ourselves that we’ll actually go. I was half expecting it to be super expensive because it’s such a small operation, and you’re supporting the community, yada yada yada, but the prices were actually pretty much in line with the much lower quality produce of the Italian Market. So I bought some arugula, zucchini, green beans, peaches and the most amazing tomatoes I’ve had all season. I am also extremely excited because I bought a lilac bush, which I’ve been on the hunt for all summer. I realize that a lilac bush is sort of an investment, because they take so long to produce flowers and they need somewhat specialized care, but I’m sort of looking forward to the prospect of nurturing it and eventually planting it in our yard at our next house. Seriously though, it will be a miracle if I don’t kill it within a month.

My first attempt at putting up the shelves in the office closet was met with defeat when one of my very carefully placed holes wouldn’t hold the anchor in place. I was so disgusted with myself and with the impossible plaster walls that I left everything where it was and came downstairs to watch a movie. I have this fantasy where I just go upstairs sometime this week to find that Greg has taken care of it, but I would say the odds of that are about four thousand to one.

Greg went to a bachelor party on Saturday night, so I took the opportunity to console myself after the shelf debacle with some wine and a delicious dinner made from our delicious produce purchase and herbs from our garden, followed by one of my old favorites, Raiders of the Lost Ark.

Oh! And we also bought a beautiful new iMac today! Somewhat on the spur of the moment, although we’ve been talking about it for months. Of course, it doesn’t necessarily take the nausea away from dropping that kind of money, but it’s going to be sooooo worth it. Not like it was all that expensive anyway, considering Greg’s old computer is starting to kick the bucket so we’d be needing one in the not-so-distant future anyway. Now I can finally hatch my secret business plan of making vacation videos for people. Yay!

2 thoughts on “lazy saturday (and sunday)

  1. leann gorman says:

    where did you get that awesome bowl in the dinner shot?

  2. Kate says:

    If memory serves, I got it at the Crate & Barrel outlet.

Leave a Reply

