sew what

Not surprisingly, we didn’t make any house-related progress this weekend, but I *did* finish the dress I was making, which I’m really excited about. No pictures of me modeling it yet, as I’m feeling sort of gross and unphotogenic lately, but I wanted to share the dress anyway. It’s my first major sewing project, not counting the half-finished skirt I started with my sister a few years ago. I made it from a Betsy Ross pattern and it was pretty simple, despite a few glaring omissions from the pattern that I had to figure out. I have one more sort of complicated project I’m working on, and once that’s done I think I’ll be able to check off my goal of “learn to sew.”

Also, yesterday marked one year since we brought Porter home from the shelter! Unfortunately it was a rainy day, so we didn’t get a lot of good outdoor celebrating in, but we did go to his favorite place, Greg’s parents house, where he ate hoagies and cake, and he also got to go to the pet store and pick out a few new toys. Greg and I always say how we just can’t believe we’ve only had him for a year, it feels like he’s been part of our family for ages. Despite all of our debating on whether to get a dog because it would destroy our freedom, Porter has managed to fit into our life pretty effortlessly, probably mostly because he’s such a good boy. And it doesn’t hurt that Greg’s parents are always so nice about dogsitting. So anyway, Happy Adoption Day, PorterPie!!

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “sew what

  1. leann says:

    that dress is sew pretty…haha. and that dog is quite a looker. i can’t believe it’s been a year!

  2. Neon Relish says:

    The dress is amazing! (Much like the dog…) Now if you can sew a dress FOR the dog, then you will have mastered the domestic art of stitchery for certain! ;)

  3. Dawn says:

    Love the dress, Kate! Happy Adoptiversary, Porter!

Leave a Reply

