i won’t dance, don’t ask me

The song we chose for our first dance at our wedding was “Little Trip to Heaven (On the Wings of Your Love)” by Tom Waits. Not that we’re necessarily huge Tom Waits fans, it just seemed like a nice romantic song that was easier to dance to than some of our other choices, not to mention there was no hint of depression in it, which is a little difficult to come by in a love song. I was just thinking of the runners-up the other day, and I thought I’d post them here, for no reason whatsoever really.

Our actual song (actually I couldn’t find the exact version on YouTube so this is a slightly different version):

Probably my number one choice was “To Be Alone with You” by Bob Dylan, but Greg not being a big dancer, we figured it was a little risky to have a more fast-paced song. But still, I regret it just a bit…

This one was a close second, except Greg and I came to a disagreement when he decided he doesn’t like Nashville Skyline-era Bob Dylan. Crazy.

Bob Dylan – “Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here with You”

The Zombies – “This Will Be Our Year”

The Velvet Underground – “I Found a Reason”

If there was a song that could be considered “our song”, it would probably be “I Put a Spell on You” by Screamin’ Jay Hawkins, but clearly we would have no idea how to dance to it, and it would probably freak everyone out.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “i won’t dance, don’t ask me

  1. Neon Relish says:

    As usual, you leave me laughing out loud – a Screamin’ Jay wedding would certainly be something, wouldn’t it? I love this post – not just because that Zombies tune would definitely be on my short list, were I to get hitched – but also because I LOVE finding out what everyone’s song is/was, so hearing about the maybes and almosts is an awesome bonus.

  2. LICEA says:

    OOUHH THANK’S 4 EMBED THE VID OF “LITTLE TRIP TO HEAVEN” I PUT THIS VIDEO BECAUSE I LIKE TOM AND THIS VERSION IS MAGNIFICENT ALSO THE FIRST ONE, CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

