what I did on my summer vacation: pt 2

Whoa, two posts in a week? Could it be that I might actually get my ass back in gear with this thing? Ehhhh….let’s not get crazy.

Back in August we took a leisurely drive up the Pennsylvania turnpike to Mauch Chunk, better known by it’s newer (and dare I say less terrible) name, Jim Thorpe. I’m still not entirely clear why the place is called Jim Thorpe – something about a Native American football player needing some place to be buried and Mauch Chunk was the only town that would take him, despite the fact that he was from Oklahoma and had never set foot anywhere near the place. I don’t know, the visitor center was a little vague in their explanation. What I do know is that it’s a pretty cute little town, was nicknamed “the Swiss Alps of the US” (although I’m betting this was before anyone in the US discovered Aspen, Colorado), and at one point was the second most visited tourist destination in the country, after Niagara Falls. Am I a geyser of knowledge or what??? Anyway, it was a nice little trip and a perfectly good alternative to spending an afternoon sitting on the couch saying, “What do you want to do? I don’t know, what do YOU want to do??” Of course the one thing in the town I didn’t take a picture of was my favorite thing – an amazing mint condition orange Karmann Ghia in the municipal parking lot.

DSC_0149

DSC_0151

DSC_0157

DSC_0160

DSC_0158

DSC_0165

DSC_0167

DSC_0168

DSC_0170

DSC_0180

DSC_0184

DSC_0186

DSC_0190

DSC_0189

DSC_0194

DSC_0192

DSC_0197

DSC_0198

DSC_0200

DSC_0202

DSC_0204

DSC_0205

Leave a Reply

